University of Illinois Springfield

College Degree Finder

The University of Illinois Springfield is a public university located in Springfield, Illinois. Also known as UIS, the school was founded in 1969 under the name Sangamon State University. It was made part of the University of Illinois in 1995.

UIS offers 23 undergraduate degrees in a variety of fields, 20 Master’s degrees and a PhD in Public Administration. The total student body population is about 5,000. At one time, UIS only offered upper division programs, but it now admits transfer students, freshman and graduates.

UIS has been on the forefront of online education, providing online instruction since 1999. UIS has won numerous awards for its online programs from organizations such as the Sloan Consortium.

General Information

Admission Office

One University Plaza, MS UHB 1080

Springfield, IL 62703

(217) 206-4847

(800) 977-4847

Fax: (217) 206-6620

Contact: Lori Giordano

Associate Director of Admissions
Main Address

One University Plaza

Springfield, IL 62703

(217) 206-6600

Total undergrads: 2,889

First-time degree-seeking freshmen: 309

Degree-seeking undergrads: 2,798

Graduate enrollment: 1,822


College has an application fee: Yes

Regular application fee: $40

Online application fee: $40

Degrees offered:

Admissions Information

Application Fee

College has an application fee: Yes

Regular application fee: $40

Online application fee: $40
Enrollment Rates

Percent applicants admitted: 78%

Percent of students who return for sophomore year: 67%

College Majors

Arts, Visual & Performing

Fine/Studio Arts B

Biological & Biomedical Sciences

Biology B

Business, Management, & Marketing

Accounting B
Business Administration/Management B

Communications & Journalism

Mass Communications/Media Studies B

Computer & Information Sciences

Computer Science B

English Language & Literature

English Language & Literature – General B

Health Professions & Clinical Sciences

Clinical Laboratory Science B


History – General B

Law & Legal Studies

Law & Legal Studies – General B

Liberal Arts & Sciences

Liberal Arts & Sciences B


Mathematics – General B

Philosophy & Religion

Philosophy B

Physical Sciences

Chemistry B


Psychology – General B

Public Administration & Services

Social Work B

Security & Protective Services

Criminal Justice Studies B

Social Sciences

Economics B
Political Science/Government B

Degree levels for each major are designated by the following letters:

    A = Associate degree
    B = Bachelor’s degree
    C = Certificate or diploma

*We do not guarantee the accuracy of information on this page. All information is subject to change. You should confirm all information with a college admissions officer.

Enjoy this post? Don't forget to share.