District of Columbia Colleges and Universities

College Degree Finder

The District of Columbia, more commonly referred to as Washington, DC, Washington, DC, or locally as “the District”, is the capital of the United States of America and home to some of the most reputable degree-granting private and public higher education institutions in the world. Private four-year colleges and universities include George Washington University (GW), the Catholic University of America (CUA), Howard University, Georgetown University (GU), American University (AU), the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), Gallaudet University, and the Corcoran College of Art and Design-which is one of the region’s premier arts schools offering specialized art and design programs for aspiring professionals. Washington’s only public four-year university, the University of the District of Columbia (UDC), offers a comprehensive selection of undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

In addition to degree-granting institutions, Washington DC offers an array of schools providing distance learning and continuing education programs for adult learners. The city is also home to three medical schools, including Howard University College of Medicine, Georgetown University School of Medicine and George Washington University Medical School, as well as several well-known medical research institutions such as the Children’s National Medical Center, the National Institutes of Health (in neighboring Bethesda, Maryland) and Washington Hospital Center.

Washington DC is unique, in that it is one of the few U.S. cities where there are federal higher education institutions. The National Defense University (NDU) and National Intelligence University (NIU), funded by the United States Department of Defense are both located in the District of Columbia. The Bachelor of Science in Intelligence (BSI), Master of Science and Technology Intelligence (MSTI), Master of Science of Strategic Intelligence (MSSI) and Certificates of Intelligence Studies (CIS) are just a few of the unique and compelling higher education programs offered at these institutions.

While there hundreds of professional and national agencies that provide program and discipline-specific accreditation, the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools is the only regional accreditation authority for the Washington DC area. The Middle States Association is recognized by the United States Department of Education (DOE) and Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) to accredit degree-granting higher education institutions.

Below you’ll find a comprehensive directory of the 4-year colleges, universities and higher education institutions located in the District of Columbia.

Federal Higher Education Institutions

Graduate Schools

Search accredited 4-year District of Columbia colleges and universities by cities.

Enjoy this post? Don't forget to share.

Recent Comments