Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET)

College Degree Finder

Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training logo

The Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET) is a private, non-profit organizations that has been monitoring and ensuring the quality of higher education since 1974. ACCET has been recognized by the Department of Education (DoE) as a national accrediting agency since 1978 and was the first national accreditor to achieve the ISO 9001 Quality Management System designation under the International Organization for Standardization.

The Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training provides accreditation for noncollegiate educational institutions and organizations that offer continuing education, corporate training and vocational programs, including programs offered via distance education. This accreditation is often extended to institutions that offer educational programs at various locations other than their headquarters.

Accreditation Eligibility

To be eligible for ACCET accreditation, an institution must meet the following requirements:

  • It has a clear educational program and education methodology with expected training outcomes.
  • It meets all state licensing requirements.
  • It’s program participants must be predominantly involved in continuing education.
  • It can show continuous successful educational operations for two years following accreditation application.
  • It has not had a prior accreditation revoked for one year prior to application.
  • It has been under the same ownership and/or control for two years prior to accreditation application.
  • It offers post secondary certificates, diplomas, or degrees up to (but not beyond) the Associate’s level.
  • It provides/assigns a “correspondent time function” (e.g., units, credit hours, etc.) to the education and/or training programs it offers.
  • It agrees to abide by ACCET Bylaws, Principles of Ethics, and Standards of Accreditation.
  • It has demonstrated responsible financial management for at least 2 years and has sufficient resources to maintain a high quality of educational offering.

Institutions that may be eligible for ACCET accreditation include:

  • Trade and professional associations
  • Private Career Schools
  • Corporate training departments
  • Labor union training programs
  • Intensive English Programs
  • Public affairs and cultural societies
  • Religious organizations and ethical societies
  • Social service, volunteer and personal development organizations

ACCET Accredited Schools and Colleges

You can find a list of ACCET accredited institutions in the American Council on Education’s Accredited Institutions of Postsecondary Education Directory and the CHEA Almanac of External Quality Review, two resources that are frequently used by government agencies, corporations, and military organizations to identify reputable education and training organizations for establishing tuition reimbursement policies. A searchable database of accredited institutions can be found on the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training website at

Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training is located at 1722 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036 and can be reached by phone at (202) 955-1113.

Enjoy this post? Don't forget to share.